Just a Few Current Offerings
This article accompanies Time for Dad.
Only three states have implemented laws that provide paid family leave > to new fathers and mothers: California, New Jersey and Rhode Island. Washington passed a law in 2007, but it did not include a funding mechanism and was never implemented. The programs are funded through employee contributions.
Here's an overview of how they work from the National Partnership for Women & Families in Washington:
California: Employees can take up to six weeks of leave in a 12-month period and typically receive about 55 percent of their weekly wages (up to $1,104 in 2015), paid for through the state fund. Employers may require workers to use up to two weeks of vacation time before they can take the leave.
New Jersey: Employees can take up to six weeks of leave in a 12-month period and receive 66 percent of their average weekly wages (up to $604 in 2015), paid for through the state fund.
Rhode Island: Employees can take up to four weeks of leave in a 52-week period and receive about 60 percent of their average weekly wages (up to $795 currently), paid for through the state fund. The four weeks count toward an individual's total temporary disability insurance allotment of 30 weeks per year.
Under these laws, employees can use paid < family leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition. These three states and two others -- New York and Hawaii -- also have temporary disability insurance laws that provide between 26 and 52 weeks of paid-time-off for one's own serious health condition, which may include pregnancy or childbirth.